“Like the resource it seeks to protect, wildlife conservation must be dynamic, changing as conditions change, seeking always to become more effective.” – Rachel Carson

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA Northern Red-bellied Snake2_PA_Charlie Eichelberger  PaintedTurtle_Colchester_VT_AdrienneFortune_2 Photos credits from left to right: Pine Barrens Treefrog by Ellen Pehek, Northern Red-bellied Snake by Charlie Eichelberger, and Eastern Painted Turtle by Adrienne Fortune

What is NEPARC?

Northeast Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (NEPARC) is a regional working group of Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC). Both the regional group (NEPARC) and national group (PARC) are dedicated to the conservation of herpetofauna – reptiles and amphibians – and their habitats. The Northeast region includes: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia.

What is the organizational structure of NEPARC?

The driving force of NEPARC is the working groups, which are formed to work on specific projects. Please view the individual working group webpages of this website to see what NEPARC working groups are currently active, what they are working on, and who the group’s leaders are. To join a working group, contact the group’s leader.

NEPARC is managed by two co-chair positions, each serving a two-year term. The co-chairs are responsible for representing NEPARC to national PARC and chairing the Steering Committee. In addition, NEPARC has an Editorial Board. See below for more information on responsibilities and membership of these committees.

NEPARC Steering Committee

The Steering Committee assists co-chairs with strategic planning and communicating with working groups. The Steering Committee is composed of members representing the various partners (state and federal agencies, academia, and other organizations). The Steering Committee members are elected during our annual meetings. The current Steering Committee members are:

  • Andy Adams (NEPARC co-chair, Susquehannock Wildlife Society and Harford Community College)
  • Jay Drasher (Aqua-Terra Environmental Ltd)
  • Lori Erb (non-voting member, NEPARC website & listserv manager, Mid-Atlantic Center for Herpetology and Conservation)
  • John Garrison (Frostburg State University)
  • Kathy Gipe (Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission)
  • Jim Julian (PA Dept. of Conservation & Natural Resources)
  • Mary Beth Kolozsvary (NEPARC treasurer, Siena College)
  • Ariel Kruger (Rutgers University)
  • Jessica Meck (Smithsonian Institute)
  • Pam Meier (Connecticut Turtle Rehabilitator)
  • Kevin Oxenrider (West Virginia Division of Natural Resources)
  • Noelle Rayman-Metcalf (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)
  • Lindsay Rohrbaugh (Washington, D.C. Dept. of Energy & Environment)
  • Peter Rosenbaum (SUNY Oswego)
  • Anne Stengle (NEPARC co-chair, Holyoke Community College)
  • Sean Sterrett, (UMass-Amherst)
  • Valorie Titus (Keystone College)
  • Alison Whitlock (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)
  • Brian Zarate (NJ Division of Fish & Wildlife)

For more information, please email Ann Stengle.

NEPARC Editorial Board

The Editorial Board is responsible for review and approval of proposed NEPARC products. Working groups submit draft products to the Editorial Board for review. Once a product has been approved, it can be distributed as a NEPARC and/or PARC product. Working groups should submit draft documents to the Editorial Board co-chairs, Glenn Johnson and Peter Rosenbaum, who will facilitate the review process and act as liaisons between the steering committee, editorial board, and working group.

  • Andrea Chaloux (New York Natural Heritage Program)Glenn Johnson (Ed Board co-chair, SUNY Potsdam)
  • Miranda Figueras (Hofstra University)
  • Susan Jewell (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
  • Glenn Johnson (Ed Board co-chair, SUNY Potsdam)
  • Liz Johnson (American Museum of Natural History – Center for Biodiversity and Conservation)
  • Mary Beth Kolozsvary (Siena College)
  • Stacey McNulty (SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry)
  • Dave Muñoz (Penn State University)
  • Ariana Newll (New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation)
  • Noelle Rayman-Metcalf (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)
  • Charles (CJ) William Robinson Jr. (SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry)
  • Peter Rosenbaum (Ed Board co-chair, SUNY Oswego)
  • Angelena Ross (New York State Department of Environmental Conservation)
  • Linda Weir (USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center)

NEPARC Social Media

  • Lori Erb (Social Media Manager, Mid-Atlantic Center for Herpetology and Conservation)
  • Meghan Hussey (Social Media Specialist, University of Rhode Island Environmental Science and Management)

What is PARC?

Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (PARC) is an inclusive partnership dedicated to the conservation of herpetofauna–reptiles and amphibians–and their habitats. Our membership comes from all walks of life and includes individuals from state and federal agencies, conservation organizations, museums, pet trade industry, nature centers, zoos, energy industry, universities, herpetological organizations, research laboratories, forest industries, and environmental consultants. Visit the PARC website for more information.